What Makes an Engaging Dance?

In my opinion, an engaging dance performance must have meaning. A story should be told with the use of not only pace and style but with facial expression. For me, when a dance piece has spurts of quick and slow movements, I am engaged because this shows emotion and a constant change of scenery keeps me interested in the piece.

In general, a dance performance including a wide variety of techniques is engaging to me.

An example of a dance I enjoy is Alvin Ailey’s ‘Revelations’ because this dance shows exactly this. Movements are slow and compact to begin with, and then the dance becomes chaotic as performers leap and spin around the space.

Image result for revelations alvin ailey

Image result for revelations alvin aileyAnd at times, the dancers work in unison perfectly making the dance look extremely well-rehearsed and amazing to the eye.

Although I love the way that canon and unison techniques can be used when many dancers are involved, my favourite dance pieces are contemporary solo.

Related imageI prefer when dances are solo because you can focus on every body movement the dancer makes and their personal facial expression. When a story can be told only with one dancer, for me, it just makes it that much more magical.

The dancer is forced to use the whole stage in order to engage those in every section of the audience which allows for professional leaps and twirls that amaze everyone.

This solo dance by a figure skater is a perfect example of what really engages me:

At the beginning, she is kneeling down with minimal movements whereas at (1:31 – 1:58), Elena speeds up. Also, between (1:53 – 1:57), she uses different levels to incorporate even more of a variety of movements. This is an example of how contrast in a dance keeps it interesting and engaging. Her facial expression entices me so much as she appears to feel ‘free’ when skating around and it makes me want to do the same dance.

Conclusively, a dance that inspires me to dance is – to me – an engaging performance.

Leave a comment