Critical Report (Dance)

When we started the term, the first main techniques we were taught were José Limón’s. The technique is divided among various themes: fall and recovery, weight, suspension, rebound, succession and isolation. It focuses on the movement of breath through the body, the dynamic use of weight with each body part and the succession of one movement into the next. We were taught some exercises so that our body’s could become accustomed to the new and unusual movements. Limón’s technique (although not strictly adhered to Limón but instead could be part of Horton/Ailey techniques) was used in some of our dance performances. For example, in Rocka My Soul, our feet were switching around, hopping from one to the other. This is an example of rebound. Suspension was used in Sinner Man, where we held our bodies still and tense before allowing them to drop in a swift manner.

In Rocka My Soul – a dance from Alvin Ailey’s Revelations series – I used a variety of Horton and Ailey techniques. For example, plenty of body parts were isolated throughout the duration of the performance. Isolation of certain, unusual body parts such as the hips (for Horton) or the wrists (for Ailey) are a big part of their techniques. At the beginning, for instance, we all waft our wrists about (the girls did it with a fan in their hands). Another example of where an Alvin Ailey technique was used is when I was part of a group of people who did a lunge towards a singular dancer. Our backs, however, had to be kept flat. Flat backs are commonly used when it comes to Ailey’s style. Horton’s influence shows through Ailey’s dances like with the wine glass stance we have when we are spinning at the end of Rocka My Soul.

Another dance in Ailey’s Revelations series that we performed was Sinner Man. This time, we used our knowledge of Horton and Ailey techniques to almost entirely choreograph the dance by ourselves. This was an extremely interesting experience and it taught me that I’d like to do more choreography when it comes to dance. An example of where we applied an obvious Horton/Ailey technique was when the group of people I was put with for the choreographing activity used strange wrist movements (articulation of the hands) whilst keeping the rest of our bodies still. After this, we used another popular technique which was bending over with a completely flat back; our wrists were still turned. Later on in this dance, we used one of Horton’s main focuses: the pelvic hinge. Multiple techniques of their’s were applied continuously throughout the dance. It seemed amazing to me that we could come up with our own dance using the Horton and Ailey techniques that actually looked distinctly similar to Ailey’s originals.

There are some specific dance skills that I feel I have developed more than others this term. The main skill that I have worked hardest on is the pelvic hinge. I chose to develop this more because I started out unable to do it easily but I found it to be extremely interesting and important in what we were doing. Eventually after working on my balance and practicing centering myself from my hips, I got the hang of this movement. Something a little more general that I have developed is my balance. When engaging new and unusual body parts (which is something we have been doing a great deal), it’s easy to lose your balance as all of your focus is on a small area of your body. With more practice of the Horton/Ailey techniques, I became more well-balanced and this will be helpful for any future dancing.

My target for the next term is to practice the skills we were taught. I was behind on the Lester Horton techniques and therefore wasn’t able to easily complete the exercises we were taught. Knowing these exercises will help with my future dancing skills by having a new type of skill set that can likely link closely to other dance techniques by other people we may or may not study in the upcoming future. I also would like to rehearse the Horton and Ailey techniques as I found them to be very interesting and engaging when performed. If we ever work on choreography again, maybe I can include their techniques in the dance.

Leave a comment